top of page

GABA for Sleep Chocolate

Over a week after Valentine's Day, we're still on the chocolate topic. Anyone who is acquainted with me to some degree knows that I have a pretty massive sweet tooth, so it shouldn't come as a surprise if I keep the topic going.


Anyway, when I first came to Japan, I was worried about having some jet lag from the hop over the pond from Canada. I read that melatonin, a sleeping supplement that supposedly helps by adjusting the body's circadian rhythm, would cause problems at customs on arrival in Japan. I read that melatonin wasn't available in stores, but a bottle of pills would be alright with a doctor's note. I didn't have the time to get the doctor's note, and I didn't want to risk getting barred from the country, so I chose not to bring any on my trip.


There are sleeping aids available over the counter without any doctor's subscription. Drewell for example, is one of them. If you do any cursory research, you might some across some scientific words that might intimidate you. Using Drewell as an example again, its main active ingredient is diphenhydramine. This is an antihistamine that can be taken by injection or by pill.

That cat does NOT look like he took sleeping aids at all.

My point is, it sounds complicated, and it's the act of taking medicine. I don't mind downing pills, but I would rather not bother myself with the discomfort that comes with swallowing one (or a cocktail of them.) Luckily, there's a chocolate form, and this is where GABA comes into the conversation.


GABA stands for Gamma-Aminobutyric Acid. Now you know why most references to it don't mention its full name. This chemical is also produced in the body like melatonin is, and a lack of it is said to create anxiety, insomnia, and high blood pressure. Japan had the idea to put this chemical into chocolate form, and it is readily available in convenience stores. These things are delicious, and even if it is psychosomatic, I do feel relaxed after eating a pack of them. They're common enough to have two flavours: milk chocolate and dark.

This is the one you'll find commonly in stores all over the place.

There is also a stronger version of the chocolate, advertised for sleep. They come in blue boxes with giant letters in English, "GABA for Sleep." Whenever I stay up too late or just can't get to sleep, I eat three pieces of these and I am sleepy in the next half hour or so. I'm usually awake the next morning feeling like I got a decent quality of sleep. If you look at the back, it does say (in Japanese) that the maximum recommended consumption in a twenty-four hour period is three pieces. This suggests that perhaps one piece, maybe two, would be sufficient for most people.

Low-quality photo for proof of realness.

That being said, GABA doesn't really have any strong scientific evidence of being effective if taken orally, or even by injection. Arguably, melatonin has the same criticism. Studies have not shown any conclusive evidence of them actually working as supplements, although their presence in the body is confirmed to have the effects of relaxation when produced naturally. Even in anecdotal testimonies, there are a lot of mixed reactions from both random voices on the internet and people I know. The chemicals work for some, and not for others.


If you're still interested in trying these, despite the disclaimer paragraph above, these blue boxes containing twelve pieces of sleepy-time chocolate are found in most grocery stores I've seen. Oddly, they're difficult to find in drug stores around my area, so that might be a red flag for some people. So, if you have a few hundred yen to spare, and want to try a not-so-intimidating sleeping aid, the GABA chocolates are available if you look for them. Even if they don't work for you, you'll at least get a chocolate fix instead of a bottle to waste space.


Thanks for reading!


This post was originally posted on City-Cost on January 10, 2020 and edited to fit the posting date for this blog.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page